Personal Reputation

Aura vs Norton: Identity Protection, Prices and Data Removal Compared (2026)

Aura vs Norton 360 compared from their own pages: September 2026 prices and renewals, credit monitoring, insurance limits, data broker removal, devices, trials and refunds, plus free options.

By Editorial Team 10 min read
Black skeleton keys

Aura and Norton overlap, but they start from opposite ends. Aura is an identity theft protection service that bundles device security: every adult plan includes three-bureau credit monitoring, $1M of identity theft insurance per adult, antivirus, a VPN and automated data removal from 425+ sites. Norton is a device security brand that adds identity protection in its higher tiers: Norton 360 Deluxe gives you antivirus, a VPN, Dark Web Monitoring and a do-it-yourself data broker scan, and credit monitoring and reimbursement only arrive with the Norton 360 with LifeLock bundles.

So the short version of Aura vs Norton is this: if identity and credit protection is the main job, Aura puts more of it in each plan. If device security is the main job and identity protection is a bonus, Norton 360’s cheaper tiers may be all you need. The rest of this comparison shows where the details differ, including Norton’s introductory pricing and how each handles data broker removal.

This comparison is research-based. We haven’t used either service; every fact comes from Aura’s and Norton’s own pricing pages, product pages and terms, checked in September 2026. Prices and plans change, so check both companies’ pricing pages before you buy.

Quick answer: which suits whom

  • Choose Aura if you want identity monitoring, three-bureau credit monitoring, insurance and automated data broker removal in every plan, or you need to cover up to five adults on one family plan.
  • Choose Norton 360 if you mainly want antivirus and a VPN across several devices at a low first-year price, and Dark Web Monitoring plus a self-service opt-out tool is enough identity protection for you.
  • Choose Norton 360 with LifeLock if you want Norton’s device security and LifeLock’s identity monitoring and reimbursement from one company, and you’ve checked the renewal price.
  • Choose neither yet if your main worry is your address on people-search sites. Free credit freezes and do-it-yourself opt-outs cover a lot of that at no cost.

Aura vs Norton: side-by-side comparison

All figures are as of September 2026, from each company’s own US site. “Not stated” means we couldn’t confirm it on their pages. Norton prices are shown as first year, then the renewal price Norton lists. Norton’s device plans and the Select Plus, Advantage and Ultimate Plus bundles come from Norton’s Norton 360 page (us.norton.com/products/norton-360); the Select bundle comes from LifeLock’s plans page (lifelock.norton.com/products/cyber-safety-plans).

Aura Norton
Entry plan Individual: $12 a month billed annually, or $15 monthly (1 adult, 10 devices) Norton AntiVirus Plus: $19.99 first year, then $59.99 a year (1 device)
Mid plans Couple: $22 a month billed annually, or $29 monthly (2 adults, 20 devices) Norton 360 Standard: $24.99, then $94.99 (3 devices). Norton 360 Deluxe: $29.99, then $124.99 (5 devices)
Top plans Family: $32 a month billed annually, or $50 monthly (5 adults, unlimited kids and devices) On Norton’s site: 360 with LifeLock Select Plus (10 devices) $99.99, then $189.99; Advantage $199.99, then $259.99; Ultimate Plus $299.99, then $364.99. On LifeLock’s site: 360 with LifeLock Select (5 devices) $99.99, then $159.99, or $14.99 a month
Credit monitoring Three bureaus on every adult plan, plus an Experian credit lock None on AntiVirus Plus, Standard or Deluxe. One bureau on Select, Select Plus and Advantage; three bureaus on Ultimate Plus
Identity theft insurance or reimbursement $1M per adult ($1M, $2M or $5M by plan) LifeLock bundles only: up to $1,050,000 (Select and Select Plus), $1,200,000 (Advantage) or $3,000,000 (Ultimate Plus) in total coverage
Stolen funds reimbursement Not stated separately on the pricing page Up to $25,000 (Select and Select Plus), $100,000 (Advantage) or $1 million per adult (Ultimate Plus)
Dark web monitoring Included (account breach, SSN and personal information monitoring) Dark Web Monitoring on 360 Standard and above
Data broker removal Automated: requests to 425+ data brokers, people-search sites and junk mailers, plus Google results; daily re-scans Privacy Monitor (Deluxe and LifeLock bundles) finds listings and gives you opt-out links; you send the requests. Automated removal is the paid Privacy Monitor Assistant add-on
Device security Antivirus, VPN and password manager on adult plans Antivirus, VPN (Standard and above), password manager and Scam Protection on every Norton 360 plan
Countries Terms limit eligibility to US and Canada residents Sold in many countries; Norton says monitoring isn’t available in all countries and varies by region
Free trial 14 days, once per customer Not stated on the plan pages we checked
Refunds 60 days on annual plans bought through Aura’s websites or support (not Amazon); not monthly plans or renewals Full refund within 60 days of payment on annual subscriptions, and within 14 days of initial purchase on monthly ones

Check Aura’s and Norton’s pricing pages for current prices before you buy, because both change their offers.

Norton vs Aura on price: the renewal matters

Norton’s first-year prices are much lower than its renewal prices. Norton 360 Deluxe, for example, is $29.99 for the first year and then renews at $124.99 a year, as of September 2026. Norton’s subscription details say renewal prices “may be higher than the initial price and are subject to change”, that annual renewals can be billed up to 35 days before the renewal date, and that annual subscribers get an email with the renewal price beforehand. If you decide to leave, our guide on how to stop a Norton renewal explains the timing and the refund windows.

Aura shows two prices per plan instead: a lower monthly equivalent if you pay annually, and a higher one if you pay monthly. Its terms say plans auto-renew at the renewal price shown in your dashboard, so check that figure before the year ends.

The fair way to compare them is year two, not year one. On Norton’s listed renewal prices, 360 Deluxe ($124.99) costs a little less than Aura Individual paid annually ($12 a month, or $144 a year), but Deluxe has no credit monitoring or insurance. Once you step up to a Norton plan with LifeLock identity features, the renewal prices run from $159.99 (Select) to $364.99 (Ultimate Plus). All of them are above Aura Individual’s $144 a year, and Ultimate Plus is above Aura Couple’s $264 a year. Select and Select Plus are different bundles with different renewal prices, so check which one you’re being offered. Norton’s renewal price list (us.norton.com/pricing, effective March 2026) lists both.

Where Aura is stronger

  • Identity features on every adult plan. Three-bureau credit monitoring, a monthly VantageScore, home and auto title monitoring, and $1M of insurance per adult are on the Individual plan, not held back for a top tier.
  • Automated data broker removal. Aura says it sends opt-out requests to 425+ sites, re-scans daily and re-submits if your data reappears. It also says processing can take up to 30 days and that some brokers may refuse or delay removal.
  • Larger families. The Family plan covers five adults and unlimited kids. Aura says to call for more than five people.
  • Simpler pricing. No steep first-year discount to watch for, though you still need to check the renewal price in your dashboard.

Where Norton is stronger

  • Cheap device security. If you want antivirus, a VPN and a password manager, Norton 360 Standard and Deluxe cost far less in the first year than any Aura adult plan.
  • Refund terms. Norton’s policy covers 60 days on annual payments and 14 days on monthly ones. Aura’s 60-day guarantee applies only to annual plans bought direct, and excludes monthly plans and renewals.
  • Reimbursement tiers. On Norton 360 with LifeLock Ultimate Plus, Norton lists up to $1 million in stolen funds reimbursement per adult and up to $3,000,000 in total coverage, plus scam reimbursement.
  • Outside the US and Canada. Norton sells in many countries, while Aura’s terms limit it to US and Canada residents. Features differ by country, so check Norton’s site for yours.

Data broker removal: the biggest practical difference

If your main reason for buying is getting your address and phone number off people-search sites, the two work very differently.

  • Aura does it for you on every adult plan. It sends the requests, re-checks daily and resends when listings come back.
  • Norton Privacy Monitor, included in Norton 360 Deluxe and the LifeLock bundles, scans popular data broker sites and shows where you appear, then you request each opt-out yourself. Our guide to Norton Privacy Monitor covers how it works.
  • Norton Privacy Monitor Assistant is a separate paid add-on, $109.99 a year or $12.99 a month as of September 2026, where Norton’s support team sends and follows up on requests. Norton’s product page says it covers over 2,000 data broker sites and databases, while another Norton page says over 200, so ask Norton which list applies.

Neither route can remove everything. Listings reappear, some sites ignore requests, and public records stay public. Our guides on whether data removal services are worth it and how data broker removal services work explain the limits.

A worked example

This is an illustrative scenario, not a real client.

Marcus is single, works from home on two laptops, a tablet and a phone, and had his email address show up in a retailer’s breach. He wants good antivirus, a VPN and alerts if his details show up on the dark web. Credit monitoring matters less to him, because he’s already frozen his credit at all three bureaus.

  1. He lists what he actually needs: device security on four devices and dark web alerts.
  2. Norton 360 Deluxe covers five devices and includes Dark Web Monitoring and Privacy Monitor, at $29.99 for the first year.
  3. He notes the $124.99 renewal and sets a calendar reminder a month before, so he can decide whether to renew, switch or cancel.
  4. He uses Privacy Monitor’s opt-out links, plus our data broker opt-out list, to clear the people-search sites himself.

His sister, who shares a home with her husband and two adult children and wants credit monitoring and insurance for all four, would reasonably land on Aura’s Family plan instead.

Not sure where to start?

Get a free audit of your search results and review profiles, with a prioritized fix list.

Get a free audit

The free alternative to Aura and Norton

123 Reputation Management doesn’t provide credit monitoring, identity theft insurance or breach monitoring, and we won’t pretend otherwise. For the credit side, the official free tools are a credit freeze at each of the three bureaus, free reports at annualcreditreport.com, and the FTC’s IdentityTheft.gov if something goes wrong. Our guide to preventing identity theft covers the free steps, and our dark web scan guide explains what free breach checks can tell you.

For the exposure side:

  • Our free Reputation Scanner, launching soon. A self-search tool that will find harmful results about you, rank the top 10 negative results by seriousness, and draft removal requests, including for personal information and doxxing, that you review and send yourself. It will be free to use, with no account and no billing. See how the scanner will work.
  • Do-it-yourself opt-outs. Our guide to removing yourself from people-search sites walks through the major sites.

If what worries you is a news story, a review or a post that shows up for your name, that’s a reputation problem rather than an identity one. Our personal reputation management service starts with a free audit. For other suite comparisons, see Aura vs LifeLock and our list of the best identity theft protection services.

Frequently asked questions

Is Aura better than Norton?

Neither is better for everyone. Aura includes more identity protection in each plan, including three-bureau credit monitoring, insurance and automated data removal. Norton 360 is cheaper in the first year and stronger if device security is your main need. Match the plan to what you’d actually use.

Is Norton or Aura cheaper?

In the first year, Norton 360 is cheaper: Deluxe is $29.99, as of September 2026. At renewal, Deluxe is $124.99 a year, close to Aura Individual’s $12 a month billed annually, but Deluxe has no credit monitoring or insurance. Check both pricing pages for current prices.

Does Norton remove your data from data brokers like Aura does?

Not automatically on its standard plans. Norton Privacy Monitor finds your listings and gives you opt-out links to use yourself. Norton sells automated removal separately as Privacy Monitor Assistant. Aura sends removal requests to 425+ sites on every adult plan.

Is LifeLock part of Norton?

Yes. Both are Gen Digital brands, and Norton sells Norton 360 with LifeLock bundles that combine device security with LifeLock identity features. Our LifeLock review covers LifeLock’s standalone plans.

Can I use Aura or Norton outside the US?

Aura’s terms limit eligibility to residents of the US and Canada. Norton sells in many countries, but says monitoring features aren’t available everywhere and vary by region, so check Norton’s site for your country.

Editorial Team

The 123 Reputation Management editorial team writes practical guides on reviews, search results and online reputation.

Start with step 1

See what people see when they search for you.

Get a free, no-obligation reputation audit covering search results, review profiles and social mentions, with clear next steps.