Aura vs LifeLock: Plans, Prices and Data Removal Compared (2026)
Aura vs LifeLock compared from their own pages: September 2026 prices, credit monitoring, insurance, data broker removal, family plans, trials and refunds, plus the free route.
Aura and LifeLock are both US identity theft protection suites, but they’re built differently. Aura puts more into one package: every adult plan includes three-bureau credit monitoring, antivirus, a VPN, a password manager and data removal from 425+ sites. LifeLock’s standalone plans focus on identity and financial monitoring with tiered reimbursement limits, a lower entry price, a longer free trial and broader refund terms, but lighter data removal (its Core plan page says it scans 60 data broker sites, every 90 days).
This Aura vs LifeLock comparison is research-based. We haven’t used either service; every fact comes from Aura’s and LifeLock’s own pricing pages, plan pages, refund policies and terms, checked in September 2026. Prices and plans change, so check each company’s pricing page before you buy.
Quick answer: which suits whom
- Choose Aura if you want identity protection, device security and wider data broker removal in one subscription, or you need to cover up to five adults on one family plan.
- Choose LifeLock if you mainly want identity and bank account monitoring with higher stolen-funds reimbursement tiers, scam reimbursement on its upper plans, a 30-day trial, and a refund policy that also covers annual renewals.
- Choose neither yet if your main worry is your address on people-search sites. The free opt-out route and a credit freeze cover a lot of that ground at no cost.
Aura vs LifeLock: side-by-side comparison
All figures are as of September 2026, from each company’s own site. “Not stated” means we couldn’t confirm it on their pages.
| Aura | LifeLock (standalone plans) | |
|---|---|---|
| Plans | Individual, Couple, Family, Kids | Core, Advanced, Total, each for 1 adult, 2 adults or a family |
| One adult | $12 a month billed annually, or $15 monthly | Core $124.99 a year or $12.49 a month; Advanced $199.99 or $19.99; Total $349.99 or $34.99 |
| Two adults | $22 a month billed annually, or $29 monthly | Core $224.99 a year or $22.49 a month; Advanced $359.99 or $35.99; Total $629.99 or $62.99 |
| Family | $32 a month billed annually, or $50 monthly; 5 adults and unlimited kids | Core $344.99 a year or $34.49 a month; Advanced $479.99 or $47.99; Total $749.99 or $74.99; 2 adults and up to 10 kids |
| Credit monitoring | Three bureaus on all adult plans | Two bureaus on Core; three on Advanced and Total |
| Identity theft insurance or reimbursement | $1M per adult ($1M, $2M, $5M by plan) | Up to $1.05M (Core), $1.2M (Advanced) or $3M (Total) |
| Scam reimbursement | Not stated on the pricing page | $5K on Advanced, $10K on Total (not available to New York residents) |
| Data broker removal | 425+ brokers, people-search sites and junk mailers, plus Google results you pick; daily re-scans | On all plans; scans and submits requests every 90 days; Core page says 60 data broker sites |
| Custom removal requests | Not stated | Not stated |
| Device security (antivirus, VPN, password manager) | Included on adult plans | Not in standalone plans; sold as Norton 360 with LifeLock bundles |
| Countries | Terms limit eligibility to US and Canada residents | US site and US benefits; other countries not stated |
| Free trial | 14 days, once per customer | 30 days; payment method required |
| Refunds | 60 days on annual plans bought direct; not monthly plans or renewals | 60 days on annual plans, including each annual renewal; 14 days on monthly plans; pro-rated refund if a breached company later gives you free protection |
LifeLock’s pages show the same figure for the first year and the renewal on these standalone plans in September 2026, but its terms say prices are subject to change and annual plans may be billed up to 35 days before they expire. Aura’s terms say renewals are charged at the price shown in your account dashboard. Check both before you commit.
How each service works
Aura
Aura sells one feature set across its adult plans and changes the number of people and devices covered: 10 devices on Individual, 20 on Couple and unlimited on Family. Alongside credit and identity monitoring and a US-based fraud remediation team, you get antivirus, a VPN, a password manager, email aliases and data removal. Aura says it sends opt-outs to 425+ sites, that processing can take up to 30 days, and that it re-scans daily and re-submits when data reappears. It’s also candid that some brokers refuse or delay removal. Our Aura review and Aura pricing guide cover the details.
LifeLock
LifeLock’s three standalone tiers change the depth of monitoring and the reimbursement limits:
- Core: identity monitoring, bank and credit alerts on up to 2 accounts, two-bureau credit monitoring, credit and payday loan lock, data broker removal, up to $25,000 each for stolen funds and personal expenses.
- Advanced: alerts on up to 5 accounts, three-bureau credit monitoring, $5,000 scam reimbursement, up to $100,000 each for stolen funds and personal expenses.
- Total: alerts on unlimited accounts, three-bureau monitoring, home title monitoring, 401(k) and investment alerts, $10,000 scam reimbursement, up to $1 million each for stolen funds and personal expenses.
All three include up to $1 million for lawyers and experts. LifeLock says insurance benefits are provided by third parties and that its scam coverage is issued by HSB Specialty Insurance Company. It also offers a Restoration Guarantee: if you’re a victim of identity theft and not satisfied with its resolution, you may receive a refund for the current term, up to 12 months of payments. It needs an auto-renewing subscription and doesn’t apply to plans paid for by a third party. The older standalone LifeLock Ultimate Plus plan is “no longer available to purchase”; LifeLock points new buyers to Total, and existing members continue.
If you want device security with LifeLock, Gen Digital (which owns both brands) sells Norton 360 with LifeLock bundles separately. Some of those bundles include Norton’s own Privacy Monitor tool, which is covered in our Norton Privacy Monitor guide.
Where each is stronger
Where Aura is stronger
- Data removal reach. 425+ sites and daily re-scans, against LifeLock Core’s stated 60 sites and 90-day cycle.
- One bundle. Antivirus, VPN and password manager come with every adult plan.
- Larger households. The Family plan covers five adults plus unlimited kids; LifeLock’s family plans cover two adults and kids.
- Three-bureau monitoring at the entry level. LifeLock only reaches three bureaus from Advanced up.
Where LifeLock is stronger
- Lower entry price. Core is $124.99 a year for one adult, against about $144 over twelve months for Aura Individual at $12 a month.
- Longer trial. 30 days against Aura’s 14.
- Refund terms. LifeLock’s 60-day window also applies to each annual renewal, and monthly plans get 14 days. Aura’s guarantee excludes monthly plans and renewals.
- Higher reimbursement tiers. Total lists up to $1 million each for stolen funds and personal expenses, plus scam reimbursement.
What neither service can do
Whichever you pick in the LifeLock vs Aura decision, a few limits apply to both:
- Neither can stop all identity theft. Both say so on their own pages. Monitoring tells you something happened; a credit freeze stops most new accounts being opened in the first place.
- Removal isn’t permanent. Brokers refresh their data, so listings come back, and both services re-submit on a cycle.
- They don’t touch reputation content. A negative article, a review, a court record or a harassing post isn’t a data broker listing.
How to choose between Aura and LifeLock
- Do the free steps first. Freeze your credit at Equifax, Experian and TransUnion, and pull your free reports through annualcreditreport.com.
- List what you’d actually use. If you already pay for antivirus and a VPN, Aura’s bundle is worth less to you. If you want high stolen-funds limits, LifeLock’s upper tiers stand out.
- Count the people. Three or more adults in one household favors Aura’s Family plan.
- Check where you live. Aura’s terms cover the US and Canada; LifeLock’s scam reimbursement excludes New York residents.
- Use the trial and refund window deliberately. Put a calendar reminder a week before each deadline. If you decide to leave, Aura’s cancellation steps and LifeLock’s cancellation steps differ, so read the one that applies.
Our guide to identity theft insurance explains what these reimbursement limits usually cover, and our overview of identity theft protection services covers what the category can and can’t do.
A worked example
This is an illustrative scenario, not a real client.
Priya and her husband share a home with her retired parents. She wants credit alerts for all four adults, help if fraud happens, and their old address off people-search sites.
- She freezes credit for all four adults at the three bureaus, at no cost.
- She compares plans: LifeLock’s family plans cover two adults and kids, so four adults would mean two couple plans. Aura’s Family plan covers up to five adults.
- Because data removal matters to her, she notes Aura’s 425+ sites against LifeLock Core’s stated 60.
- She starts Aura’s trial on the annual Family plan, so the 60-day refund applies, and sets a reminder to check the renewal price in the dashboard before the year ends.
A single person who already has security software and mainly wants bank-account monitoring could reasonably land on LifeLock Core or Advanced instead.
Not sure where to start?
Get a free audit of your search results and review profiles, with a prioritized fix list.
Get a free auditThe free alternative to Aura and LifeLock
123 Reputation Management doesn’t provide credit monitoring, identity theft insurance or breach monitoring, and we won’t pretend otherwise. For the credit side, the official free tools are a credit freeze at each bureau, annualcreditreport.com, and the FTC’s IdentityTheft.gov if something goes wrong. Our guide to what to do if your identity is stolen walks through recovery. If neither suite fits, our list of LifeLock alternatives, free and paid covers other options, including cheaper entry plans.
For the exposure side, where both suites overlap with free tools:
- Our free Reputation Scanner, launching soon. A self-search tool that will find harmful results about you, rank the top 10 negative results by seriousness, and draft removal requests, including for personal information and doxxing, that you review and send yourself. It will be free to use, with no account and no billing. See how the scanner will work.
- Do-it-yourself opt-outs. Our guide to removing yourself from people-search sites covers the major sites, and our data broker opt-out list links each opt-out page.
If data removal is the only thing you want, a dedicated service may suit better than either suite. Our guides on whether data removal services are worth it and how data broker removal services work explain the options, and our Aura vs DeleteMe comparison shows how a suite stacks up against a removal-only service.
If what worries you is a news story, a review or a post that shows up for your name, that’s a reputation problem rather than an identity one. Our personal reputation management service starts with a free audit.
Frequently asked questions
Is Aura better than LifeLock?
Neither is better for everyone. Aura includes more in each plan, including device security and data removal from 425+ sites. LifeLock starts cheaper, has a longer trial, broader refund terms and higher reimbursement tiers on its top plan. Match the plan to what you’d actually use.
Which is cheaper, Aura or LifeLock?
For one adult, LifeLock Core is cheaper as of September 2026: $124.99 a year or $12.49 a month, against Aura Individual at $12 a month billed annually or $15 monthly. LifeLock’s Advanced and Total plans cost more than Aura Individual. Check both pricing pages for current prices.
Does LifeLock remove your data from data brokers?
Yes. As of September 2026, all of LifeLock’s standalone plans include automatic data broker removal, which scans and submits removal requests every 90 days. The Core plan page says it scans 60 data broker sites.
Can I use Aura or LifeLock outside the US?
Aura’s service terms limit eligibility to residents of the US and Canada. LifeLock’s pages we checked are for US customers, and its scam reimbursement is limited to US residents outside New York. We couldn’t confirm LifeLock availability in other countries.
Which has the better refund policy?
LifeLock’s is broader: 60 days on annual plans, including each annual renewal, and 14 days on monthly plans. Aura offers 60 days only on annual plans bought directly, and excludes monthly plans and renewals.