BrightLocal vs Moz Local: Features, Pricing and Which to Choose
BrightLocal vs Moz Local compared as of September 2026: plans, per-location costs from one to twenty locations, listings, reviews, terms, and which one suits your business.
BrightLocal vs Moz Local comes down to depth versus entry price. Moz Local is cheaper for one to three locations and sends your details to 90+ listing directories on every plan, starting at $20 a month per location. BrightLocal costs more at one location, from $41 a month, but has deeper local rank tracking and audits, a free trial, and band pricing that becomes cheaper than Moz Local’s per-location pricing as you add sites. Whichever order you search it in, Moz Local vs BrightLocal, the answer depends on your location count and whether you need audits or just accurate listings.
Every fact below comes from each company’s own pricing page and terms, checked in September 2026. Prices change, so check both sites before you buy. We don’t give either one a score or star rating.
BrightLocal vs Moz Local at a glance
All details as of September 2026. “Not stated” means we couldn’t confirm it on the company’s own site.
| Feature | BrightLocal | Moz Local |
|---|---|---|
| Plans | Track, Manage, Grow; custom above 100 locations | Lite, Preferred, Elite; Enterprise for 50+ locations |
| Entry price, 1 location, monthly billing | $41 a month (Track) | $20 a month (Lite) |
| Entry price, 1 location, annual billing | $369 a year | $199 a year |
| How price scales | Location bands (1, 2 to 5, 6 to 10, 11 to 20 and so on to 100) | Per location; each location needs its own subscription |
| Annual discount shown | “Save 25%” | “Save 20%” |
| Free trial | 14 days, no credit card | None shown for Moz Local (trial on the page is for Moz Pro) |
| Listings distribution | Active Sync to “key sites” on Manage and Grow; Citation Builder pay-as-you-go from $2 per citation | 90+ listing directories on every plan |
| Number of sync sites | Not stated | 90+ directories; varies by country |
| Rank tracking | Up to 100 keywords and four competitors per location; geo-grid for up to five keywords | Local Grid and local map pack ranking |
| Audits | Local SEO audit and Google Business Profile audit (Track and up) | Data health analytics; competitor analysis from Preferred |
| Review monitoring | Grow; Reputation Manager page says 80+ sites | Every plan (“all networks”) |
| Review replies | Grow, across multiple sites | Preferred and Elite (Google and Facebook) |
| Review requests | Grow: email, SMS and in-store | Review generation on Preferred and Elite |
| Social posting | Google Business Profile post scheduler (Manage and Grow) | Google and Facebook from Preferred; Instagram, LinkedIn and TikTok on Elite |
| AI features | Local AI Visibility Tracker (all plans); AI Insights (Manage and Grow) | Listings AI add-on ($14 a month, included in Elite); Reviews AI add-on ($10 a month) |
| Countries | USA, UK, Canada, Australia | US, UK, Canada |
| Refunds on cancellation | Fees already paid aren’t refunded | Fees paid are non-refundable |
| How cancellation works | Cancel any time; takes effect at the end of the period | Cancel per location in the dashboard; immediate and irreversible |
| Price-change notice | 30 days | At least 30 days for renewal pricing |
| Done-for-you service | Managed SEO Service, $1,299 a month | Not stated |
What each costs as you add locations
This is where the two differ most. Moz Local charges the same price for every location. BrightLocal charges one price for a whole band of locations. Here are like-for-like plans on monthly billing, as of September 2026.
| Locations | Listings: BrightLocal Manage | Listings: Moz Local Lite | Review replies: BrightLocal Grow | Review replies: Moz Local Preferred |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $54 | $20 | $65 | $30 |
| 3 | $76 | $60 | $87 | $90 |
| 5 | $76 | $100 | $87 | $150 |
| 10 | $109 | $200 | $131 | $300 |
| 20 | $153 | $400 | $197 | $600 |
All figures are per month. The pairings aren’t identical products: Moz Local Lite includes distribution to 90+ directories and review monitoring, while BrightLocal Manage adds audits and deeper rank tracking but not review tools. Moz Local Preferred replies on Google and Facebook, while BrightLocal Grow replies across multiple sites and sends review requests by SMS and email too.
The pattern is clear, though. For listings, Moz Local is cheaper up to three locations and BrightLocal is cheaper from four. For review replies, the crossover comes sooner, at three locations. Our BrightLocal pricing guide lists every band, and our Moz Local pricing guide covers the add-ons.
Where BrightLocal is stronger
- Local SEO depth. Rank tracking for up to 100 keywords and four competitors per location, a geo-grid, citation tracking, and local SEO and Google Business Profile audits, all from the entry plan.
- Cost at several locations. Band pricing makes it cheaper per location from about four sites up.
- Trying before buying. A 14-day trial with no card. Moz Local shows no trial.
- Gentler cancellation. Cancellation takes effect at the end of the period, and BrightLocal says it doesn’t delete your account or reports.
- Australia. BrightLocal lists Australia; Moz Local doesn’t.
- Help if you want it done for you. Citation Builder and a Managed SEO Service are available.
Where Moz Local is stronger
- Entry price. $20 a month for one location, or $199 a year, is less than half of BrightLocal’s entry plan.
- Listings on every plan. Directory distribution is in Lite. At BrightLocal, syncing starts on Manage.
- Review monitoring on every plan. At BrightLocal, review tools start on Grow.
- Social posting. Preferred posts to Google and Facebook, and Elite adds Instagram, LinkedIn and TikTok. BrightLocal’s plans schedule Google posts only.
- Simple math. Per-location pricing is easy to budget for one or two sites.
One caution on Moz Local: its conditions say canceling a location is immediate and irreversible and removes its data from your dashboard. Record your details before you cancel.
Which one should you choose?
- One location, you mainly want accurate listings: Moz Local Lite is the lower-cost route.
- One location, you want audits and to know where you rank: BrightLocal Track.
- Four or more locations: price both, but BrightLocal’s bands usually come out lower for comparable plans.
- You’re in Australia: BrightLocal lists Australia; Moz Local doesn’t.
- You want to test first: BrightLocal, since Moz Local shows no trial.
- You’re a large brand with 50+ or 100+ locations: both quote custom plans. Compare them with enterprise platforms; our Yext pricing guide covers the questions to ask any sales-led vendor.
A worked example: one location now, three next year
This is an illustrative scenario, not a real client.
A pet grooming business has one shop and plans two more within a year. The owner wants listings kept accurate and wants to reply to reviews from one place.
- Today, one location. Moz Local Preferred costs $30 a month and includes listings and review replies. BrightLocal Grow costs $65 a month.
- Next year, three locations. Moz Local Preferred becomes $90 a month. BrightLocal Grow in the 2 to 5 band is $87 a month, and stays $87 up to five locations.
- Terms. Moz Local’s fees are non-refundable and cancellation removes data from the dashboard, so switching later has a cost. BrightLocal offers a trial to test first.
- Decision. The owner starts on Moz Local Preferred on monthly billing for the single shop, and sets a reminder to compare again before opening the third location, when the prices cross.
There’s no single right answer. The best choice is the one that matches the next twelve months, not just today.
Not sure where to start?
Get a free audit of your search results and review profiles, with a prioritized fix list.
Get a free auditA free option for the reputation side
Neither tool is free. If your concern is what people see when they search your business, rather than directory accuracy, our free platform may cover it. It tags every page-one result for your name as positive, neutral or negative, watches for new reviews and mentions and alerts you when one needs a reply, tracks results as owned pages climb, and sends plain-English monthly reports.
To be plain: it doesn’t sync listings, track map rankings, send review requests or post to social media. For those, you need BrightLocal, Moz Local or a tool like them. For the listings themselves, you can do a lot free: claim your Google Business Profile (or hand it to our Google Business Profile management service), then Bing Places for Business and Apple Business Connect. If you’d rather talk it through, start with our free reputation audit, or see other BrightLocal alternatives.
Frequently asked questions
Is Moz Local cheaper than BrightLocal?
For one to three locations, generally yes. As of September 2026, Moz Local Lite is $20 a month per location against BrightLocal Track at $41 for one location. From about four locations, BrightLocal’s band pricing tends to cost less than Moz Local for comparable plans, because Moz charges the full price for every location.
Moz Local vs BrightLocal: which is better for listings?
Moz Local includes distribution to 90+ listing directories on every plan, including its $20 Lite plan. BrightLocal’s Active Sync starts on its Manage plan and covers “key sites”, and it sells Citation Builder separately for building new citations. If listings are the only job, Moz Local is the simpler buy at one location.
Which has better review management?
BrightLocal’s Grow plan monitors and replies to reviews across multiple sites and sends review requests by email, SMS and in-store campaigns. Moz Local monitors reviews on every plan and adds replies for Google and Facebook, plus review generation, from Preferred. Compare the plan you’d actually buy.
Do BrightLocal and Moz Local offer free trials?
BrightLocal offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card. As of September 2026, Moz Local’s pricing page shows no Moz Local trial; the trial button there is for Moz Pro.
Can I get a refund if I cancel either one?
Both companies’ published terms say fees already paid aren’t refunded. BrightLocal cancellation takes effect at the end of the current period. Moz Local cancellation is done per location in the dashboard and is immediate and irreversible.