Search Results

BrightLocal Alternatives: Local SEO and Listings Tools Compared

The main BrightLocal alternatives compared on published pricing, listings coverage and review tools as of September 2026, with fair notes on each and the free routes to try first.

By Editorial Team 11 min read
A printed city map on a table with several colored pins marking business locations

The best BrightLocal alternatives depend on which part of BrightLocal you use. If you mainly want your business details kept accurate across directories at the lowest entry price, Moz Local starts at $20 a month for one location. If you want to buy local SEO tools one at a time, Whitespark sells each tool separately. If you want listings, reviews and an AI agent under one per-location price, look at Synup or Semrush Local, and if you run a large multi-location brand, Uberall is closer in shape to an enterprise platform.

This page compares those options as of September 2026, using each company’s own pricing pages. It starts with our free platform, which is ours and does a narrower job than BrightLocal, and it says plainly what each tool can’t do. There are no star ratings or scores here for anyone. Prices change, so check each company’s site before you buy.

Why businesses look for BrightLocal alternatives

BrightLocal is a local SEO platform sold in three plans. Track covers local rank tracking, a geo-grid rank map, citation tracking, local SEO audits and a Google Business Profile audit. Manage adds Active Sync to keep your details “synced and protected across key sites” and a scheduler for Google posts. Grow adds review monitoring and replies across multiple sites, review requests by email, SMS and in-store campaigns, and a website review widget.

It publishes its prices, which many local tools don’t. For one location on monthly billing, Track costs $41 a month, Manage $54 and Grow $65; on annual billing they cost $369, $485 and $584 a year. Our BrightLocal pricing guide lists every location band and the cancellation terms.

So why switch? The usual reasons are:

  • Cost for a single location. If you only want listings kept accurate, Manage at $54 a month is more than some simpler listings tools charge.
  • Paying for tools you don’t open. BrightLocal’s FAQ says you can’t buy single features on its standard plans. Someone who only wants a rank tracker or a review tool may prefer a vendor that sells tools separately.
  • Country coverage. BrightLocal says its platform works in the USA, UK, Canada and Australia. Businesses elsewhere need to check coverage first.
  • Wanting more social or AI features. Some teams want social posting, an AI agent or broader automation that BrightLocal’s plans don’t center on.
  • Terms. BrightLocal’s terms say fees already paid aren’t refunded when you cancel, and downgrades take effect immediately with no refund, so an annual plan you stop using is money spent.

None of this makes BrightLocal a poor choice. It’s one of the more transparent local SEO tools on price, with a 14-day free trial that needs no credit card. The point is to match the tool to the job.

BrightLocal alternatives compared

All details as of September 2026, from each company’s own website. “Not published” means the company routes pricing through sales. “Not stated” means we couldn’t find it on the company’s pricing page.

Tool Best fit Listings Review tools Published pricing Trial
123 Reputation Management (our free platform) Watching your search results and reviews No Monitoring and alerts only Free Not applicable
BrightLocal (for reference) Hands-on owners and agencies doing local SEO Active Sync on Manage and Grow; Citation Builder pay-as-you-go Monitoring, replies, requests and widget on Grow 1 location: $41, $54 or $65 a month billed monthly; price on request at 100+ locations 14 days, no card
Moz Local Low-cost listings coverage, 1 to 49 locations Yes, 90+ listing directories on every plan Monitoring on Lite; responding from Preferred Per location: $20, $30 or $40 a month, or $199, $299 or $399 a year; custom for 50+ None shown for Moz Local (the trial on its pricing page is for Moz Pro)
Whitespark Buying individual local SEO tools and services Listings Service, one-time fee Reputation Builder, $79 a month per location Tools priced separately, from $1 a month per location Not stated
Synup Agencies and multi-location businesses wanting every feature on every plan Yes Monitoring, responses and review campaigns $49 a month for 1 location up to $899 for 50; contract pricing above 50 14 days (Solo plan)
Semrush Local Businesses already using Semrush, or focused on Google Business Profile Listing Management on Pro Auto-replies on Base; management and generation on Pro $30 or $60 a month per location, billed annually; Business custom Not stated for Local
Uberall Multi-location brands Yes, on every plan On Stand Out and Connect Not published (request pricing) Not stated

Our free platform first, then five real alternatives

123 Reputation Management (our free platform)

What it is: our free platform, listed first because it’s ours, not because it replaces BrightLocal. It tags every page-one result for your name as positive, neutral or negative, watches for new reviews and mentions and alerts you when one needs a reply, tracks your results as owned pages climb and old ones slip, and reports back every month in plain English.

What it doesn’t do: no rank grids, local rank tracking, listings sync, citation building, review requests, website review widgets or AI replies. If you need those, you need one of the tools below. Where ours helps is the reputation side: seeing what people find when they search your business, and hearing about a new review or mention before it sits unanswered.

Moz Local

What it is: a listings and local SEO tool from Moz. Every plan includes a Local Grid, local map pack ranking, distribution to 90+ listing directories, review monitoring and data health analytics. Preferred adds review responding, review generation, sentiment analysis, social posting to Google and Facebook, competitor analysis and agency permissions. Elite adds the Listings AI add-on, posting to Instagram, LinkedIn and TikTok, Facebook ad boosting, social responding and a reporting suite.

Pricing as of September 2026: per location, Lite is $20 a month or $199 a year, Preferred $30 or $299, and Elite $40 or $399. Enterprise pricing is custom for 50 or more locations. Moz supports listings in the US, UK and Canada.

Fair notes: the lowest published entry price for directory distribution here. The trade-offs: every physical location needs its own subscription, so costs scale in a straight line; you can’t respond to reviews on Lite; and Moz’s conditions say fees paid are non-refundable. Our Moz Local pricing guide covers the add-ons and terms, and our BrightLocal vs Moz Local comparison sets the two side by side.

Whitespark

What it is: a Canadian local SEO company whose pricing page says it doesn’t believe in forced bundling. Its software and services are sold individually: Local Platform for managing Google Business Profiles, Local Ranking Grids, Local Rank Tracker, Local Citation Finder and Reputation Builder, plus done-for-you listings and SEO services.

Pricing as of September 2026 (USD):

  • Local Platform: $1 a month per location.
  • Local Ranking Grids: plans from $10 a month; enterprise pricing available.
  • Local Rank Tracker: $14 to $200 a month.
  • Local Citation Finder: $33 to $149 a month.
  • Reputation Builder: $79 a month per location; custom multi-location pricing available.
  • Listings Service: packages from $20 to $999, one-time fee.

Fair notes: the closest match for someone who wants one BrightLocal-style tool without the rest. The catch is that adding several tools together can cost more than a bundle, and you manage more than one subscription. Listings work is sold as a service, not an ongoing sync.

Synup

What it is: a listings, reviews, social and local SEO platform priced by location bands. Synup says every plan includes every feature, and the band sets capacity, credits and the throughput of its AI agent, Sydekick. White labeling starts on Premium.

Pricing as of September 2026: on monthly billing, Solo is $49 a month for one location, Premium $299 for up to 10, Pro $499 for up to 25 and Scale $899 for up to 50. Above 50 locations it’s contract pricing. Annual billing saves 20%. Synup says plans are monthly and you can leave at the end of a billing period. The 14-day trial covers Solo only.

Fair notes: a short commitment and one price that includes reviews and listings. Agent work runs on monthly credits, and extra credits are bought in blocks. Our Synup review covers it in more depth.

Semrush Local

What it is: the local toolkit from Semrush. Base includes automated Google Business Profile management with an AI agent, AI post generation and publishing, review auto-replies, automated photo posting and a Map Rank Tracker. Pro adds listing management, review management and generation, and advanced Google Business Profile management.

Pricing as of September 2026: Base is $30 a month per location and Pro $60 a month per location, both shown billed annually. Business is custom through sales.

Fair notes: a natural fit if your team already works in Semrush for SEO. It leans heavily on automating your Google profile, so check whether you’re comfortable with AI-written posts and auto-replies before you switch them on. Our Semrush Local plans and add-ons guide covers the extra costs and refund terms.

Uberall

What it is: a location marketing platform for multi-location brands. Its plans are Show Up (listings), Stand Out (listings and reviews) and Connect (adding local social and posting to Google and Apple), with add-ons such as store locator and local pages, an AI visibility product called GEO Studio, and social ads.

Pricing as of September 2026: not published. Each plan shows “request pricing” and routes to a demo. Our Uberall pricing guide explains what to ask for.

Fair notes: built for brands with many locations and more than one person working on them. For a single shop, it’s more platform than the job needs.

How to choose a BrightLocal alternative

  1. Name the one job you most need done. Rank tracking, listings accuracy and review management are three different jobs. Many businesses only need one.
  2. Count your locations and price the whole estate. Moz Local and Semrush Local price per location; BrightLocal and Synup price in bands. At one location, per-location pricing often wins. At ten, bands often do.
  3. Check country coverage. BrightLocal lists the US, UK, Canada and Australia; Moz Local lists the US, UK and Canada.
  4. Read the refund and renewal terms before paying annually. Both BrightLocal’s and Moz’s published terms say fees already paid aren’t refunded.
  5. Use a trial where one exists. BrightLocal offers 14 days with no card, and Synup offers 14 days on Solo.
  6. Decide whether you need a tool at all. For one or two locations, the free route below covers a lot.

A worked example: choosing for a two-location bakery

This is an illustrative scenario, not a real client.

A bakery with two shops has used BrightLocal Grow for a year. The owner looks at what the team actually uses: they check rankings once a month, they never used the review widget, and they send review requests themselves with a printed QR code. Their real worries are wrong opening hours on some directories and slow replies to reviews.

  1. Listings. Moz Local Lite for two locations costs $40 a month on monthly billing, compared with $87 a month for BrightLocal Grow in the 2 to 5 band. Lite includes directory distribution but not review responding.
  2. Replies. Moz Local Preferred adds review responding at $60 a month for two locations. Alternatively, the owner replies to Google reviews directly in Google Business Profile, which is free.
  3. Decision. The bakery tries Moz Local Lite on monthly billing, replies to Google reviews in its free profile, and uses our free platform to get alerted to new reviews and mentions elsewhere. It revisits the choice in three months.

The saving isn’t the point. The point is that the owner paid only for the jobs the team does.

Not sure where to start?

Get a free audit of your search results and review profiles, with a prioritized fix list.

Get a free audit

The free route before you pay for anything

For one to three locations, much of what listings software does can be done by hand, then checked every quarter.

  1. Write down your exact business name, address, phone number, hours and website. This is your master record.
  2. Claim and complete your Google Business Profile, which is free. Our Google Business Profile optimization guide walks through it.
  3. Do the same for Bing Places for Business and Apple Business Connect.
  4. Search your business name and phone number, and correct the directory listings that show up on page one.
  5. Reply to reviews where they’re posted, and use a free Google review link to ask customers for feedback. Our guide to getting more Google reviews covers it.

If you’d rather hand the listing work over, our Google Business Profile management service covers the listing that matters most. If you want to know what customers see when they search you, start with our free reputation audit.

Common mistakes when switching from BrightLocal

  • Canceling before you download your reports. BrightLocal says reports stay in your account but can’t be accessed after you cancel until you reactivate.
  • Forgetting PayPal. BrightLocal’s terms say PayPal payers must also stop the automated payment in PayPal.
  • Comparing one-location prices when you have ten locations. Band pricing and per-location pricing diverge quickly as you grow.
  • Paying annually on day one. Test on monthly billing first, since paid fees generally aren’t refunded.
  • Assuming listings stay fixed after you leave a sync tool. Check your main listings a few weeks after switching.

Frequently asked questions

What is the cheapest alternative to BrightLocal?

For one location, Moz Local Lite is the lowest published price for directory distribution we found: $20 a month, or $199 a year, as of September 2026. Whitespark’s Local Platform is $1 a month per location, but it manages Google Business Profiles rather than syncing other directories. Google Business Profile itself is free. Check each company’s pricing page for current figures.

Is Moz Local better than BrightLocal?

Neither is better across the board. Moz Local is cheaper at one location and includes directory distribution on every plan. BrightLocal has deeper local rank tracking and audits, and its band pricing gets cheaper per location as you add sites. Our BrightLocal vs Moz Local page compares them in detail.

Is there a free alternative to BrightLocal?

Partly. Google Business Profile, Bing Places and Apple Business Connect are free to manage yourself. Our free platform alerts you to new reviews and mentions and tracks your page-one results, but it doesn’t do rank tracking, listings sync or citation building.

Which BrightLocal alternative is best for agencies?

Agencies often look at Synup, which includes white labeling from its Premium plan, and Moz Local, whose Preferred plan includes agency permissions. BrightLocal itself also offers white-label reports. Compare how each prices your total number of client locations.

Editorial Team

The 123 Reputation Management editorial team writes practical guides on reviews, search results and online reputation.

Start with step 1

See what people see when they search for you.

Get a free, no-obligation reputation audit covering search results, review profiles and social mentions, with clear next steps.