Incogni vs Aura: Data Removal Only, or an Identity Protection Bundle?
Incogni vs Aura compared on price, broker coverage, countries, custom removals, family plans and refunds as of September 2026, plus who each suits and the free route to try first.
Incogni vs Aura is really a choice between two kinds of product. Incogni is a dedicated data removal service: it sends removal requests to 420+ data brokers, and its Unlimited plans add custom removals from 3,000+ more sites. Aura is an identity theft protection bundle that includes data removal from 425+ sites alongside credit monitoring, identity theft insurance, a VPN, antivirus and a password manager. If you only want your details off broker sites, Incogni costs less. If you also want credit monitoring and insurance in one US subscription, Aura is the one to look at.
This comparison is research-based. We read both companies’ own pricing, terms and feature pages in September 2026. We haven’t held an account with either, and we don’t give star ratings. The facts below are the same whichever way you search, Aura vs Incogni or Incogni vs Aura.
Quick answer: which suits whom
| Choose Incogni if you | Choose Aura if you |
|---|---|
| Only want data broker removal | Want credit monitoring, identity theft insurance and data removal together |
| Want the lower price for removal alone | Want Google search cleanup requests included |
| Live in the UK, the EU, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland or Liechtenstein (Incogni’s terms list these; Aura’s terms cover only the US and Canada) | Are in the US or Canada and want fraud remediation help if something goes wrong |
| Need custom removals for sites you find yourself (Unlimited plans) | Want a free trial before paying |
Incogni vs Aura: side-by-side comparison
Everything below comes from each company’s own site, as of September 2026. Where we couldn’t confirm a detail, the cell says “not stated”.
| Feature | Incogni | Aura |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Dedicated data removal service | Identity theft protection bundle that includes data removal |
| Entry price (one person) | Standard: $7.99 a month billed annually ($95.88 a year), or $15.98 a month billed monthly | Individual: $12 a month billed annually, or $15 billed monthly |
| Other plans | Unlimited $14.99 a month ($179.88 a year); Family $15.99 a month ($191.88 a year, or $31.98 monthly); Family Unlimited $22.99 a month ($275.88 a year) | Couple $22 a month billed annually ($29 monthly); Family $32 a month billed annually ($50 monthly); Kids $10 ($13), without data removal |
| Data removal coverage | 420+ data brokers, automated | 425+ data brokers, people-search sites and junk mailers, plus Google results you pick |
| Custom removals | Unlimited plans: 3,000+ additional sites | Not stated |
| Re-checks and reports | Recurring removals; monthly progress reports | Daily re-scans; monthly updates |
| Credit monitoring and insurance | Not part of its plans | 3-bureau credit monitoring; identity theft insurance of $1M (Individual), $2M (Couple) or $5M (Family) |
| Countries | Its terms list the EU, Switzerland, the UK, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Canada and the US | Its service terms limit eligibility to US and Canada residents |
| Family plans | Up to 5 members | Couple (2 adults); Family (5 adults, unlimited kids) |
| Trial or refund | No free trial listed; 30-day money-back on all plans, for the initial purchase | 14-day free trial (once per customer); 60-day refund on annual plans bought from Aura, not monthly plans, renewals or third-party purchases |
Both companies run promotions. In September 2026, Incogni’s homepage showed a code for a discount on the first year of annual plans, which then renew at the standard price. Check the current price on Incogni’s and Aura’s own pricing pages before you buy. Our Incogni pricing guide and Aura pricing guide go into each company’s plans in more detail.
How each service works
Incogni
You give Incogni the details you want removed, and it uses privacy laws such as the GDPR and the CCPA to send removal requests to the brokers on its list, then keeps re-sending them. Its pricing page notes that some requests take more than 30 days. You get monthly progress reports and 24/7 chat support, and the Unlimited plans add live phone support. Incogni was started by the Surfshark team in September 2021, and its about page says it is SOC 2 Type II audited.
Aura
Aura scans people-finder and data broker sites and sends opt-out requests to 425+ of them. It says processing can take up to 30 days, that it re-scans daily and re-submits if your data reappears, and that some opt-outs may need your authorization. Separately, you can review your Google results and pick links for Aura to submit to Google. The removal sits inside a larger plan with credit monitoring, identity theft insurance, fraud remediation, a VPN, antivirus and a password manager.
Where each is stronger
Where Incogni is stronger
- Price for removal alone. Incogni Standard at $95.88 a year costs less than Aura Individual at $12 a month billed annually, if removal is all you want.
- Custom removals. Incogni’s Unlimited plans cover 3,000+ more sites on request. We couldn’t confirm custom removals for Aura.
- Outside North America. Incogni’s terms list the EU, the UK and several other European countries as well as Canada and the US. Aura’s service terms limit eligibility to residents of the US and Canada.
- Focus. You aren’t paying for antivirus or a VPN you may already have.
Where Aura is stronger
- Identity protection. Credit monitoring, identity theft insurance and fraud remediation come in the same plan.
- Google search cleanup. Aura submits removal requests to Google for results you pick.
- Trial and refund window. A 14-day free trial, plus a 60-day refund window on eligible annual plans.
- Large households. Aura’s Family plan covers five adults and unlimited kids.
About the insurance
Aura says its identity theft insurance is underwritten and administered by American Bankers Insurance Company of Florida, an Assurant company, and that coverage may not be available in all jurisdictions. As with any “up to” limit, what’s paid depends on the policy terms, conditions and exclusions, so read the summary of benefits. Incogni’s plans don’t include insurance or credit monitoring. One detail worth knowing: if you start Aura with a free trial, its refund policy counts the 60 days from the day you signed up for the trial. We don’t give insurance or financial advice, and our own products don’t do credit monitoring, identity theft insurance or breach monitoring. If credit is your main worry, you can freeze your credit for free at each of the three US credit bureaus and check your reports at annualcreditreport.com, and the FTC’s IdentityTheft.gov helps you report and recover. Our guide to identity theft protection services explains what these bundles can and can’t do.
What neither can do
Both services work on data brokers. Neither stops brokers compiling new profiles, so listings reappear and removal is ongoing. Some sites ignore or delay requests, which Aura itself says. Public records such as court and property files stay public. And neither is built to take down a news article, a review or a social media post. Our guides on how data broker removal services work and whether data removal services are worth it cover these limits.
A worked example
This is an illustrative scenario, not a real client.
Marcus, a teacher in Arizona, gets a data breach letter from his health insurer. He wants his address off people-search sites and is also worried about someone opening credit in his name.
- He freezes his credit at all three bureaus first, which is free and takes an afternoon.
- With his credit frozen, he asks whether he still wants Aura’s credit monitoring and insurance. He decides he’d like the insurance and fraud help while the breach is fresh.
- He compares Aura Individual at $12 a month billed annually with Incogni Standard at $95.88 a year plus doing nothing on the identity side.
- He picks Aura, uses the 14-day trial to check its data removal dashboard against the listings he found himself, and notes that the 60-day refund applies to annual plans bought from Aura, not monthly ones.
If he hadn’t wanted insurance, the cheaper Incogni plan would have covered the broker side on its own.
Not sure where to start?
Get a free audit of your search results and review profiles, with a prioritized fix list.
Get a free auditThe free alternative to Incogni and Aura
- Do the core opt-outs yourself. Our data broker opt-out list and our guide to removing yourself from people-search sites cover the main brokers for free.
- Use Google’s own tool. Google’s Results about you lets you request removal of results showing your phone number, home address or email.
- State tools. Californians can send one deletion request to registered data brokers through the DROP platform under the California Delete Act.
- Our free Reputation Scanner, launching soon. It’s ours and it isn’t live yet. It will be a free self-search tool with no account and no billing: it shows the top 10 negative results about you, ranked by seriousness and how likely they are to be about you, and drafts removal requests that you review and send yourself. It isn’t a broker subscription. See the Reputation Scanner page.
For each service in more depth, read our Incogni review and Aura review, or compare the wider field in our best data removal services roundup. If you’d rather compare identity suites, see our list of alternatives to Aura. If your problem is an article or post rather than a listing, our content removal service starts with a free audit.
Frequently asked questions
Is Incogni or Aura cheaper?
For data removal alone, Incogni is cheaper at list price as of September 2026: Standard is $95.88 a year, while Aura Individual is $12 a month billed annually. Aura’s price includes credit monitoring, insurance and security tools, so compare what you’d actually use. Check both pricing pages for current prices.
Does Aura remove data from as many sites as Incogni?
The headline counts are close: Aura says 425+ sites and Incogni says 420+ brokers. Incogni’s Unlimited plans add custom removals from 3,000+ more sites, which we couldn’t confirm for Aura. Aura adds Google result removal requests. Compare each list against where you actually appear.
Does Incogni include identity theft insurance?
No. Incogni’s plans cover data removal only. Aura’s adult plans include identity theft insurance, with limits that vary by plan.
Can I use Incogni or Aura outside the US?
Incogni’s terms list the EU, Switzerland, the UK, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Canada and the US. Aura’s service terms limit eligibility to residents of the US and Canada.
Can I use both Aura and Incogni?
You can, but there’s a lot of overlap on data broker removal. If you want Aura’s identity features, try its data removal first and add a dedicated service only if specific sites keep showing you.