Meltwater vs Cision: Plans, Coverage and Contracts Compared
Meltwater vs Cision as of September 2026: how their plans, media coverage, outreach tools and contract terms compare, where each is stronger, and a free option for simpler needs.
Meltwater and Cision are both quote-based PR and media intelligence platforms, so the choice comes down to how you want to buy and what you need most. As of September 2026, Meltwater sells four plans (Starter, Pro, Enterprise and Agency) where you choose modules, and publishes its cost factors and a 60-day renewal notice in its US terms. Cision sells four CisionOne packages (Journalist Outreach, Media Monitoring, Media Monitoring + Social and the full Suite) and has press release distribution in the same family through PR Newswire.
Whether you searched “Meltwater vs Cision” or “Cision vs Meltwater,” this guide compares the two on the details each company publishes. Everything here comes from their own websites and legal pages, checked in September 2026. Our comparison is research-based: we haven’t run paid accounts side by side. Pricing and terms change, so check both sites and your written proposals before you sign.
Quick answer
- Choose Meltwater if you want one platform with media, social listening, AI visibility tracking and media relations as selectable modules, and you value a vendor that lists its pricing factors and contract terms publicly.
- Choose Cision if you want to buy a narrower package (outreach only, or monitoring only), or you already send releases through PR Newswire and want distribution in the same family.
- Choose neither yet if your real need is watching what appears when people search for you. A free tool will do that job, and you can revisit a PR suite later.
Meltwater vs Cision: comparison table
Details as of September 2026, from each company’s own site. “Not stated” means the company doesn’t publish it on the pages we checked.
| Feature | Meltwater | Cision |
|---|---|---|
| Published prices | No; every plan says “Contact Sales” | No; pricing is a request form |
| Plans or packages | Starter, Pro, Enterprise, Agency | Journalist Outreach, Media Monitoring, Media Monitoring + Social, CisionOne Suite |
| How you build a quote | Choose a plan, then choose modules | Choose a package; an expert recommends and prices it |
| Pricing factors published | Yes: sources and regions, data volume, users, integrations, onboarding and support, contract terms, modules | Not stated; “tailored to your team’s needs and budget” |
| Media types monitored | Online news, social, print, broadcast and podcasts | Print, online, TV, radio, social, podcasts and magazines |
| Coverage figures it claims | 400,000+ traditional outlets, 200M+ online publications | Not stated |
| Journalist outreach | Media Relations module | Journalist Outreach package, with AI-powered pitching |
| Press release distribution | Press distribution listed among its features | In the Journalist Outreach package; PR Newswire is an affiliated brand |
| Social listening | Social Listening module on every plan | In Media Monitoring + Social and the Suite; Brandwatch is an affiliated brand |
| AI visibility tracking | AI Visibility Tracking module; GenAI Lens LLM tracking | AI Visibility in CisionOne; Trajaan for search and GenAI monitoring |
| Influencer marketing | Enterprise and Agency plans | Not stated as a package |
| Free trial | No self-serve trial; free human-guided demo | Not stated |
| Typical contract | “Most” are annual, minimum 12 months | Not stated on pricing pages; set in your Order |
| Billing | Invoiced in advance, payable within 14 days (US terms) | Invoiced annually in advance (MSA) |
| Refunds | Payment obligations non-cancellable, fees non-refundable, except as the agreement provides | Non-cancellable and non-refundable unless your Order says otherwise |
| Auto-renewal | Yes, unless written notice 60 days before term ends; renews at then-current prices | Not in the MSA; set in your Order |
| Onboarding fee | “May” apply for complex setups | Not stated |
Sources: Meltwater’s pricing page, media monitoring page and US General Terms and Conditions (April 5, 2025); Cision’s homepage, CisionOne pricing page, request pricing page and Master Subscription Agreement (last updated 25 September 2025).
Where Meltwater is stronger
- Transparency about pricing. Meltwater doesn’t publish prices either, but its FAQ lists what drives a quote and states that most contracts are annual with a 12-month minimum. You can prepare for the sales call with that list.
- Published renewal rules. Its US terms say exactly how renewal works: automatic, at then-current prices, unless you give 60 days’ written notice. With Cision, you’ll only see the equivalent in your Order.
- Modular plans. Every Meltwater plan lets you choose capabilities from media intelligence, social listening, AI visibility tracking and media relations, with influencer marketing on Enterprise and Agency.
- Agency tiers. Meltwater has a dedicated Agency plan described for everything from small agencies to global portfolios.
Where Cision is stronger
- Narrower packages. Cision lets you ask for Journalist Outreach or Media Monitoring on its own. If you only need one of those jobs done, that’s a cleaner starting point.
- Distribution in the family. PR Newswire is one of Cision’s affiliated brands, and the Journalist Outreach package lists customizable press release distribution.
- Broad stated media coverage. CisionOne’s media monitoring covers print, online, TV, radio, social, podcasts and magazines “all in real time.”
- Related brands. Brandwatch (consumer intelligence and social media management) and Trajaan (search intelligence) sit alongside CisionOne if you later need deeper listening or AI search tracking.
Contract terms side by side
This is where the two differ most in what they publish. Meltwater’s US terms put the renewal rules in the general agreement. Cision’s Master Subscription Agreement leaves renewal to your Order and says the agreement lasts until all Orders have expired or been terminated.
Both bill in advance. Meltwater’s US terms say you’re invoiced for the full amount in advance and pay within 14 calendar days, unless your order confirmation says otherwise. Cision’s agreement says all fees are invoiced annually in advance. Neither gives a general right to cancel for convenience: both allow termination for a material breach not fixed within 30 days of written notice.
Practical advice for either vendor: before you sign, get the term length, auto-renewal, notice deadline and renewal price written into the order. For more detail, see our guides to Meltwater pricing and Cision pricing.
A worked example: choosing between the two
This is an illustrative scenario, not a real client.
A mid-sized software company has a two-person communications team. They send about six press releases a year, pitch trade journalists and want monthly coverage reports for the board. They ask both vendors for proposals covering the US and UK, online and print news, two users and a journalist database.
- They ask Cision to price the Journalist Outreach and Media Monitoring packages, and Meltwater to price its Starter plan with the media intelligence and media relations modules.
- The team asks each to price social listening separately, since it’s a “nice to have.”
- They compare the renewal terms: Meltwater’s 60-day notice is in its published terms; they ask Cision to put its notice period and renewal price in the Order.
- They pick the one whose total over two years, including any onboarding charge, fits the budget, and diary the notice deadline.
Not sure where to start?
Get a free audit of your search results and review profiles, with a prioritized fix list.
Get a free auditA free option for simpler needs
Both Meltwater and Cision are built for PR and communications teams. If your concern is narrower, such as what shows up when a customer, investor or employer searches for you, you may not need either yet.
Our free platform is ours, so weigh that. It tags every page-one result for your name as positive, neutral or negative; watches for new reviews and mentions and alerts you when one needs a reply; tracks every result as owned pages climb and old ones slip; and reports back every month in plain English. It doesn’t monitor TV, radio, print or podcasts, and it has no journalist database, press distribution or social listening dashboards. Start with a free reputation audit. If a negative story is already spreading, our crisis management service and our guide on handling negative press are better next steps.
Google Alerts is also free and covers basic web and news mentions. If you want other paid options, see our lists of Meltwater alternatives and Cision alternatives, or the wider media monitoring tools comparison.
Frequently asked questions
Is Meltwater or Cision better?
Neither is better for everyone. Meltwater suits teams that want modular plans and published renewal rules; Cision suits teams that want a narrower package or press release distribution through PR Newswire. Get proposals for the same scope from both.
Which is cheaper, Cision or Meltwater?
Neither publishes prices as of September 2026, so there’s no honest general answer. Your quote depends on the modules or package, coverage and users. Compare two-year totals, including renewal prices and any onboarding charge.
Do Meltwater or Cision offer free trials?
Meltwater says it doesn’t offer a self-serve free trial but provides a free, human-guided demo. Cision’s site doesn’t mention a trial; its route to pricing is a request form and a consultation.
Can I cancel Meltwater or Cision mid-contract?
Generally not for a refund. Meltwater’s US terms say fees paid are non-refundable, and Cision’s agreement says fees are non-cancellable and non-refundable unless your Order says otherwise. Check your own order for the exact terms.
Are Brandwatch and Cision the same company?
Cision lists Brandwatch among its affiliated brands, alongside CisionOne and PR Newswire. Brandwatch is sold and priced separately from CisionOne.